Is The Cheesecake Factory halal?


The Cheesecake Factory is a national, well-known brand that does not serve halal meat (as far as anyone knows). However, some of the cheesecake flavors are made with halal beef gelatin. Below is an email from the Cheesecake Factory that is standard boilerplate regarding which flavors are halal. Note, some of these may change over time so the best practice is to call ahead to your local outlet and inquire if the flavor that you have your eye on from the below list is still made with the halal gelatin or not. Also, note the comment at the end about vanilla extract. As always, you have to make your own decision regarding what is acceptable and what is not.

Thank you for your interest in The Cheesecake Factory. As with most high end pastries and desserts, when needed, we use gelatin over a host of gums and artificial additives.

Below I have included a list for cheesecakes that “do” and “do not” contain animal gelatin for your convenience. For those that contain gelatin, it is Halal beef gelatin. They are all delicious, and we hope you will find a flavor to enjoy!

Cheesecakes that DO NOT contain animal gelatin:
Original Cheesecake
Fresh Strawberry Cheesecake
Ultimate Red Velvet Cake Cheesecake
Reese’s® Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake Cheesecake
Toasted Marshmallow S’Mores Galore Cheesecake
Lemon Meringue Cheesecake
Salted Caramel Cheesecake
Coconut Cream Pie Cheesecake
Hershey’s® Chocolate Bar Cheesecake
30th Anniversary Chocolate Cake Cheesecake
Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake
White Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Cheesecake
Very Cherry Ghirardelli® Chocolate Cheesecake
Cinnabon® Cinnamon Swirl Cheesecake
Tiramisu Cheesecake
Fresh Banana Cream Cheesecake
Adams Peanut Butter Cup Fudge Ripple Cheesecake
Lemon Raspberry Cream Cheesecake
Low-Licious Cheesecake
Low-Licious Cheesecake with Strawberries
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake
Caramel Pecan Turtle Cheesecake
Chocolate Tuxedo Cream Cheesecake
Celebration Cheesecake
Chocolate Caramelicious Cheesecake Made with Snickers®
Caramel Apple Cheesecake
Pumpkin & Pumpkin Pecan Cheesecakes (seasonal)

Cheesecakes that DO contain Halal Beef Gelatin:
Godiva® Chocolate Cheesecake
Dulce de Leche Cheesecake
Oreo® Dream Extreme Cheesecake
Key Lime Cheesecake
Mango Key Lime Cheesecake
Vanilla Bean Cheesecake
Pineapple Upside-Down Cheesecake
Peppermint Bark Cheesecake (seasonal)

For your convenience, we’ve included a handful of desserts that contain alcohol from liqueur as an ingredient. These desserts will have alcohol in the finished product.

Cheesecakes that contain Liquor:
Tiramisu Cheesecake
Tiramisu Cake
Lemon Raspberry Cream Cheesecake
Key Lime Cheesecake

Note: Our cheesecakes contain Vanilla Extract, which contains alcohol, yet it’s evaporated during the baking process. Thank you again for your inquiry. Should you have further questions, please feel free to contact us anytime. We appreciate your interest and look forward to serving you soon!